NEBOSH IGC new syllabus

Heritage Safety Training Centre now attained NEBOSH

Silver Learning Partner Status

New Syllabus :

Nebosh has now published new Syllabus for NEBOSH IGC. The new Syllabus now consists of only 2 units;

  • IGC 1-Management of Health & Safety -Online Open Book Exam Assessment & Closing interview
  • IGC 2-Risk Assessment – Practical Assessment-Online Submission.

Both IGC 1 & IGC2 will be marked by NEBOSH

Unit prefixes and title/s: Unit IG1: Management of health and safety ; Unit IG2: Risk assessment

Unit IG1

Unit IG2

Assessment Type:

-Online Open Book Exam Assessment and Closing interview.

-Practical Assessment-Online Submission.

Assessment Time:

-24 Hours

Modes of Study: A full-time block release course (minimum of two weeks, eight to ten working days including question paper hours) Part-time day release (spread over at least eight to ten weeks) Open or distance learning.
Qualification level and number of credits: Notional SCQF Level 6 with 11 credits (Equivalent to RQF Level 3)
Entry requirements: None
Qualification grades: The qualification grade is based on the result from Unit IG1 Distinction: 75 marks or higher Credit: 65 - 74 marks Pass: 45 - 64 marks

Qualification Overview

Who is the qualification designed for?

This qualification is designed for anyone (managers, supervisors and workers) in any type of organisation. It’s ideal for anyone who needs a broad understanding of health and safety issues to be able to manage day-to-day risks effectively. Many people take the International General Certificate in Occupational Health and Safety (IGC) as a first step in a career in health and safety. It gives a valuable overview, and is a sound basis for further professional study.

Benefits for learners

The IGC looks at everyday solutions for general workplace health and safety issues. When you have completed the qualification, you will be able to:

  • Justify the need for health and safety improvements;
  • Advise on duties for health and safety in the workplace;
  • Help your organisation to manage contractors;
  • Work within a health and safety management system;
  • Positively influence health and safety culture and behaviour;
  • Carry out a general risk assessment (using a 5-step approach) of your workplace;
  • Recognise workplace changes and their impacts and understand how to minimise these impacts;
  • Develop basic safe systems of work that include emergency arrangements and know when to use a permit-to-work system;
  • Take part in incident investigations; and
  • Help your employer check the effectiveness of their health and safety management system through monitoring, auditing and review.
Benefits for employers When you achieve the IGC, you will be a huge asset to your employer. You will make a real difference in the workplace. You will have the knowledge, understanding and skills to help protect the health and safety of all workers. You will also be able help your employer to comply with the law and good practice, as well as help them avoid the huge costs from incidents and ill-health.

Syllabus Summery

Element Assessment

1. Why we should manage workplace health and safety

Question Paper (one 20-mark question and ten 8-mark questions)

Unit IG1: Management of health and safety

Elements 1.1, 1.2 and 3.4 are also assessed by the practical assessment (Unit IG2)

2. How health and safety management systems work and what they look like

3. Managing risk – understanding people and processes

4. Health and safety monitoring and measuring

5. Physical and psychological health

Practical assessment

Unit IG2: Risk assessment

6. Musculoskeletal health

7. Chemical and biological agents

8. General workplace issues

9. Work equipment

10. Fire

11. Electricity